Relay-Version: version B 2.10 5/3/83; site utzoo.UUCP
Path: utzoo!watmath!clyde!burl!ulysses!mhuxl!ihnp4!zehntel!dual!amd!decwrl!decvax!cca!ima!ism780!michaelf
From: michaelf@ism780.UUCP
Newsgroups: net.sport.baseball
Subject: Re: You make the call! - (nf)
Message-ID: <340@ism780.UUCP>
Date: Wed, 1-Aug-84 00:14:13 EDT
Article-I.D.: ism780.340
Posted: Wed Aug  1 00:14:13 1984
Date-Received: Sun, 29-Jul-84 00:04:58 EDT
Lines: 21

#R:ihn5l:-11000:ism780:20400015:000:905
ism780!michaelf    Jul 20 12:35:00 1984





	   Once the batter has reached fist safely, it is a matter of who
      does what first after that. Let me explain. If your second runner
      scored before the batter was out, he is a legit score. Your case is
      a strange one. The batter was not out until the appeal play was made
      (I'm assuming this was the case) and I'm sure that your second runner
      had scored by then. It should have been two runs scored, end of inning.
      Even though it is a judgement call (deciding who did what first; who
      scored or who got out first) it may be appealable since I'm sure the
      runner scored before the appeal play was made. Your batter could have
      came out of the dugout, touched home, then third and then second before
      the appeal was made. Tough luck.

      I had an outfielder catch a ball and fall over the homerun fence. Talk
      about your screaming arguments.